LaBrae Board of Education Members

LaBrae Board of Education

Virginia (Jinni) Blaney

Virginia (Jinni) Blaney, Vice-President

Virginia Blaney lives in Braceville with her husband Cliff Blaney.  She is a lifelong resident of the LaBrae community.  She went to first grade at Leavittsburg, and then moved to Braceville, from which she graduated.  Following high school, Mrs. Blaney attended Kent State University and graduated with a Bachelor’s in Education.  She earned her Master’s in Education from Youngstown State University.  Mrs. Blaney taught for 35 years as a mathematics teacher at Mineral Ridge High School.  Cliff and Virginia Blaney are the proud parents of two daughters, Lynnette and Bridget, who are graduates of LaBrae.  Previously, she served on the LaBrae Board of Education from 1984 to 2007.  She is an active member of the Braceville United Methodist Church.

Diane Duncan picture

Diane Duncan

Diane Duncan is a lifelong resident of Leavittsburg.   Her father, David Blahu, was a long-time Leavittsburg Trustee and an active community member.  She has been married to her husband Jim Duncan for 46 years.  They are the proud parents of two adult daughters, Lisa (Don) Gilanyi and Heidi (Bryan) Berger, and proud grandparents of Zackary and Skyler.  Mrs. Duncan enjoyed 38 years of employment with LaBrae Local Schools as an elementary teacher.  Mrs. Duncan was elected to the Board of Education in 2009.  Mrs. Duncan is a graduate of Leavittsburg High School and Youngstown State University.

Tim Gibson picture

Tim Gibson

Tim Gibson is a longtime resident of Braceville. Mr. Gibson is married to Janice Gibson, who is a life-long Braceville resident and a 1980 LaBrae graduate.  Mrs. Gibson is a current teacher at the high school.  The Gibsons are proud parents of two children that are attending the University of Akron.  Mr. Gibson is a 38 year employee of General Motors at the Lordstown manufacturing facility.  He was elected to the LaBrae Board of Education in 2005.  Mr. Gibson serves as LaBrae’s representative on the TCTC Board of Education.  Mr. Gibson is a graduate of Lordstown High School.

Gary Morton

Gary Morton

Gary Morton is a 1969 graduate of Leavittsburg H.S. and graduated from Kent State University with a Bachelors Degree in Education in 1974.  Gary is not new to the LaBrae School District.  Gary grew up in Leavittsburg and as well as being a student here, he has been a custodian, groundskeeper, English and Math teacher and coach. Because of his ties to the school and the community, Gary believes that his open communication between teachers, administrators and the people of the LaBrae School District will serve him well as a Board of Education member.

Russell Sewell picture

Russell Sewell, President

Mr. Sewell is a lifelong resident of Leavittsburg.    Mr. Sewell was first elected to the Board of Education in 1995, serving from 1996-2000.  Mr. Sewell’s current tenure on the Board began with his re-election in 2003.  Currently, Mr. Sewell serves as the Board President.  He is a 1970 graduate of Leavittsburg High School.  Mr. Sewell earned his Bachelor's degree in Business Administration from Ohio University in 1974. Presently, Mr. Sewell is President of Quality Switch Inc. in Newton Falls.  Mr. Sewell and his wife Peggy, a 1975 LaBrae graduate, are the proud parents of 4 children all of which are LaBrae graduates and all graduated as valedictorians of their class.  He and his wife attend Leavittsburg First Community Church.  Mr. Sewell is a member of the Warren Sports Hall of Fame local heroes corner.  He served as an officer for the LaBrae Athletic Club for 30 years.   Mr. Sewell is an ambassador for state of Ohio Department of Development and is a member of the Trumbull County Workforce Investment Board.